Anne J. Bailey Dissertation Prize

The Anne J. Bailey Dissertation Prize is awarded biannually in even-numbered years to the best dissertation that takes the US Civil War era as its main point of focus.  The prize consists of a $2,000 stipend and honors Anne J. Bailey, a scholar of the western theater of the Civil War and long-time officer in the Society of Civil War Historians. The award is presented at the biannual conference of the SCWH.  Calls for nominations are issued via H-Net and social media. For announcements and submission information, go to the SCWH website (link to

Previous Anne J. Bailey Dissertation Prize Winners:

2022: J. Matthew Ward, “Garden of Ruins: Military Occupation and State Power in Civil War Louisiana.” (Louisiana State University)

2021: Jonathan Jones, “Opium Slavery: Veterans and Addiction in the American Civil War Era.” (Binghamton University)

2020: Robert K.D. Colby, “The Continuance of an Unholy Traffic: Slave Trading in the Civil War South.” (University of North Carolina)